Brad Nason, dean of students, 406.657.1018,
RMC Media Team, 406.657.1105,  

Rocky Mountain College athletes honored at 2013-2014 celebration

BILLINGS, April 25, 2014 – Rocky Mountain College student-athletes received recognition at an April 23 ceremony for leading their teams and programs in the 2013-2014 academic year, both on and off the field. 

The Frank and Helen Mathew Awards honor the outstanding underclassmen in RMC athletics. The Mathews supported RMC athletics throughout their 70-year marriage. Frank attended the then-Billings Polytechnic Institute and played for Herb Klindt, coached 33 years of RMC football beginning in 1949, and was a charter member of the RMC Hall of Fame. The 2014 Frank Mathew Award went to Nils Hogbom of Östersund, Sweden, a national champion on the men’s ski team. The Helen Mathew Award went to Eloise Julliand of Épagny, France, of the national champion women’s ski team.

The top senior athletes receive the Herb and Clara Klindt Awards, named for the legendary RMC coach and athletic director and his spouse. The Herb Klindt Award went to soccer player Oliver Gore of Stafford, England. Skier Malin Johansson of Malmo, Sweden, received the Clara Klindt Award. 

Senior Joel Barndt of Billings, Mont., received the President’s Award. The Arthur and Linda DeRosier Award for the outstanding senior athlete representing the true spirit of RMC went to Neal Coon of Metaline Falls, Wash. 

The Champion of Character Award went to cross-country runner Noah Kiprono of Kenya.

Coaches Awards for outstanding team spirit went to Brittany Myers of Cody, Wyo.; Carl Joachim Soderstrom of Norrkoping, Sweden; and Travis Bertelsen of Wibaux, Mont.


  • Special Teams Player of the Year: Ryan Steska, Mission Viejo, Calif.
  • Offensive Most Valuable Player: Bryce Baker, Fernley, Nev.
  • Defensive Most Valuable Player:  Travis Bertelsen, Wibaux, Mont.
  • Most Improved Player: Jaytee Tarpley, Dubois, Idaho
  • Frank Mathews Award: Neal Coon, Metaline Falls, Wash.


  • Offensive Player of the Year: Yang Yang, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Brooke Myers, Cody, Wyo.
  • Most Improved: Ahlea Billis, Bozeman, Mont.
  • Most Inspirational: BrieAnna Geck, Worden, Mont., and Anna Dewald, Windsor, Colo.

Men’s Basketball

  • Defensive MVP: Malachi Roberts, East Wenatchee, Wash.
  • Battlin’ Bear Award: Matt Strickland, Billings, Mont.
  • Mr. Consistency: Jeremy Nicolas, Villepinte, France
  • MVP: Joel Barndt, Billings, Mont.

Women’s Basketball

  • MVP: Brittany Kumm, Great Falls, Mont.
  • Most Inspirational: Brittany Myers, Cody, Wyo.
  • Defensive MVP: Brittany Kumm 

Golf Men

  • MVP: Daniel Thompsett, Aboyne, Scotland
  • Most Improved: Cooper Simpson, Spirit Lake, Idaho, and Jordy Donoven, Kremlin, Mont.
  • Newcomer: Robbie Shipp, Saratoga, Wyo. 

Golf Women

  • MVP: Katy Peterson, Glendive, Mont.
  • Most Improved: Margo Salsbery, Forsyth, Mont.
  • Newcomer: Kyla Clancy, Park City, Mont.
  • Coaches Award: Katy Peterson, Glendive, Mont.

XC/Track Men

  • MVP: Shawn Peden, Billings, Mont.
  • Rookie: Fredrick Petsch, Billings, Mont.
  • Most Improved: Shawn Peden, Billings, Mont.  
  • Hustler Award: Johnny Barnes, Zillah, Wash.

XC/Track Women

  • MVP: Ana Richter, Billings, Mont.
  • Rookie: Jessica Raymond, Henderson, Nev.
  • Most Improved: Kati Hengle, Belgrade, Mont.
  • Hustler Award: Rachael Hart, Kalispell, Mont.


  • Newcomer of the Year: Megan O'Loughlin, Redding, Calif. 
  • Leadership Award: Ashley Schwartz, Glendive, Mont. 
  • Most Improved:  Tiana O'Tremba, Lovell, Wyo.
  • Champions of Character Award: Risa Darveaux, Aurora, Mo. 

Soccer Men

  • Player of the Year: Oliver Gore, Stafford, England
  • Player's Player of the Year: Oliver Gore, Stafford, England
  • Leadership Award: Carl Joachim Soderstrom, Norrkoping, Sweden

Soccer Women

  • Player of the Year: Rachel Hein, Billings, Mont.
  • Player's Player of the Year: Sydney Galletti, Livermore, Calif.
  • Leadership Award: Sydney Galletti, Livermore, Calif.

Ski Men

  • Consistent Team Scorer: Harlan Collins, Hailey, Idaho
  • Most Improved: Harlan Collins and Erik Hogbom, Östersund, Sweden
  • Outstanding Competitor of the Year: Nils Hogbom, Östersund, Sweden 

Ski Women

  • Consistent Team Scorer: Eloise Julliand, Épagny, France
  • Most Improved: Fredrika Hjelm, Sigtuna, Sweden
  • Outstanding Competitor of the Year: Frida Svedberg, Frösön, Sweden